top of page

Fasting With a Purpose


What does fasting mean?

Fasting is the abstaining from all or some kinds of food or drink, especially as a religious observance.


My reason for fasting is to rebuild my faith and relationship with God, as well as my trust. With this fast I know that my inner-strength will be tested and I know that this will take discipline and prayer to get through the fast that has been shown to be best for me. I know that this fast will bring me back to where I once was at with God and my purpose in life will be revealed if it is time for me to know my purpose.

Fasting Begins . . .

My fast will be from December 1,2018 9am CST through December 31,2018 9am CST. During this fast there will be no Social Media. This is something that I seek pleasure in that I will be replacing with Devotionals, Meditation, Prayer, and Yoga. Those times that I would open one of those apps just for fun are removed for the next 31 days and I know I will get through it. During this fast there will also be absolutely no alcohol or liquor of any kind for no reason. From 9 am -5 pm I will not be eating any food or drinking any kind excluding water. During the time I would eat breakfast I will partake in Devotionals instead and Pray and meditate instead. During those times of lunch I will pray instead. Keeping myself hydrated during this time. Then from 6 pm - 9 am I will read a book of literature related to getting closer to God and do Yoga, Pray and Rest while continuing to keep myself hydrated.

My Fasting Break down

Twenty-three hours of no food and drink excluding water.

First 8 hours of fast

Daily Devotional, Prayer, and Meditation -- In place of Breakfast

Prayer -- In place of Lunch

Fast Break for 1 hour -- Allow Nourishment to my body after Prayer

Last 15 hours of fast

Prayer and Yoga after Nourishment

Reading literature related to getting closer to God

Prayer

Rest

* Everything else in my life will continue as normal with work, looking for work, and working on my book project.


I know that this month will be a trying month for myself, but I will get through it. I refuse to let these demons take over me when I am at my lowest. At 29 years old this is not where I thought my life would be, but I am understanding now what I had plan was not apart of my plan, or at least not yet. I do know that everything happens for a reason and things will become clear to me when it is my time.




This book was sent to me by the author Darlyshia A Menzie Founder of FervantServant at a point in my life that I had been on my journey of self-rediscovery and trying to rebuild my faith and relationship with God and I was trying to figure out the tools to do so. It is like she just knew I needed this as one of my tools. This book has been eye opening and helpful to me with my journey and I am grateful for that. I discuss my take aways from this book in Episode 2 of my podcast. I love that I am finally realizing things that have been right in front of me this entire time; things that I did not notice until I read this book. Click on the picture to check out her website to get your copy and also see what she is all about.


Check out my podcast The Brilliant Beauty Speaks at the following

This podcast is available on...

Anchor 

Breaker

Castbox 

Google Podcasts 

Overcast 

Pocket Casts 

RadioPublic 

Spotify 

Stitcher 


Also check out my Vlog the link located in the navigation bar of this website

5 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page